how to judge a YA book by its cover

how to judge a YA book by its cover.

Just got word from Lorimer  that the title we’re probably going with for my YA sports  novel is “Wicket Season“. What do you think?  I kind of like it. It was one of my suggestions, and I love that it has a cricket term in it.

Next hurdle, the cover. Of course I have nothing to do with designing it, but thankfully I know the editor and I are one the same page with regards to the race of the cover model, should there be one (a model that is). Apart from that, there are a myriad of ways a YA cover can go wrong. Check out Forever Young Adult‘s hilarious review of bad and good YA covers.

That said, the new covers Lorimer is doing for the Sports Stories series are pretty cool.

Making Select

The above is their latest release, obviously a hockey story. I like how dark and brooding it is and I also like that we can’t see the player’s face. My book is not likely to have a dark and dramatic cover like this, since cricket is played in summer during the day, but I have high hopes that a shiny red cricket ball will be included.

I guess I’ll just wait and see.

Leave a Reply

