NaNoWriMo – Week One – word count 14,589

2 Comments

Many of my fellow writers are engaging in this folly that is NaNoWriMo. This is my first year. It’s true that NaNoWriMo writing is often crap. Some even see that as the whole point of the exercise. I don’t expect great things; I would just like to finish a book for a change.

In many ways this is the first year I have taken my writing career seriously. My effort appears to be paying off.

I have had two articles accepted for publication in children’s magazines, as well as one short story. I have been doing some paid blog writing, and started this blog, which is growing in popularity. I’ve sold a book to Lorimer and have another tentative publisher offer in the works, along with an agent who may or may not represent me. I seem to be a real writer again.

Why then can I not finish anything? Even with NNWM manuscript is looking like it is going to need to be 100,000 words long, which is why I suggested to blogger Joanne Fritz that December be National Finish your Novel Month, but unfortunately someone thought of this first!

So November and December together – I’m dedicating these last months of this Year of Taking Myself Seriously to writing a whole novel, and finishing it. Audacious, yes, crazy even, but what do you expect? I AM a writer.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Week One – word count 14,589

  1. Over 14,000 words in one week, eh? And that, with buggering off to Jeyn’s launch Thursday evening…? I AM impressed. Keep going. If you stop believing in yourself, believe in the novel! (Something Linda Sue Park spoke of in her closing talk for the retreat I attended this past weekend, and solid words, yes!)

  2. Hey, thanks for the mention and for telling me about the OFFICIAL NaNoFiMo. It was actually Shelley Moore Thomas who mentioned it on her blog and I thought SHE invented it. Nice to know there is such a thing. And that it’s in December, not November. Because I might not finish this novel I’m working on this month anyway…

    Over 14K in one week is downright amazing. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

