I Love Dark YA Week 5 – I can’t wait for UNWHOLLY

5 Comments

I spoke of Neal Shusterman‘s UNWIND a few weeks ago. This is a dark YA book to beat all dark YA books. YOU. MUST. READ. IT.  Here’s the blurb from Goodreads.

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

And here are a couple of great reviews from The Happy Booker and Five Alarm Book Reviews. I rarely have read a book that stuck with me as this one did. It’s sad and frightening and bizarre yet strangely believable. I read it more than a year ago and I still can’t stop thinking about it.

Anyway, Simon and Shuster have finally scheduled a release date for the sequel UNWHOLLY. I can’t wait to read it, but I’m going to have to until September 2012!  There’s a synopsis available online but I won’t post it here since I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t read UNWIND. I’ve read many of Neal Shusterman’s books and never been disappointed. If you haven’t already, also check out his Skinjackers Trilogy.

What Great fun the I Love Dark YA Blogfest has been!  Don’t forget to visit other contributors blogs! Also don’t forget today is GIVEAWAY DAY! I’d love to giveaway a copy of my upcoming book for Lorimer, WICKET SEASON but it’s, well, still upcoming. Instead I’m going to giveaway another book from Lorimer in the same series: POWER PLAY by Michele Martin Bossley.

Comment and follow and it could be yours!

When Zach Thomas broke his wrist going into the boards early in the hockey season, he thought he was done for the year. But as his Cochrane, Alberta, Pee Wee team gets ready for the play-offs, his doctor tells him he’s healed-up enough to pay. Zach isn’t so sure. 

His fear of being checked hard in the corner makes him very reluctant to head back out on the ice. To make matters worse, a tough guy on an opposing team claims he has unfinished business with Zach. When he gets to talk with an NHL pro, however, Zach learns from experience how to stand up to his fears–and to the bully. 

 

5 thoughts on “I Love Dark YA Week 5 – I can’t wait for UNWHOLLY

  1. I’ve had Unwind on my TBR list for ages. I bet Unwholly will rock after all I’ve heard about unwind. Thanks for not putting spoilers in it. The hockey book sounds great, as well. My BF used to play hockey until it started getting deadly in his high school years. Yay new books!

Leave a Reply

