ROAD TRIP WEDNESDAY : Leaving Earth

For this week’s Road Trip Wednesday,  YA Highway asks If you could wander anywhere in the world, where would it be, and why?

I have to ask: does it have to be in this world? Today?

Let me go back a bit. I write middle grade, I write YA. I write fantasy and sci fi and YA romance. I write some historical stuff. What I DON’T write is about stuff that I could actually do. I don’t particularly care to read that either. I never read Eat Pray Love and I never watched “Sex and the City”. I can wander around South East Asia having epiphanies any time I want and if I really wanted to go to New York,  buy expensive shoes by day and shag worthless alpha-men by night, I could probably do that too.

I write and read about young people because I can never be young again. I read and write about aliens and wizards because I haven’t been able to find any, no matter how hard I look. I read and write about Regency times, Victorian times, Elizabethan, Roman, the 1970’s, the 1960’s, WWI, prehistory and the far future because I can never go there .

I write and read about first love and losing virginity because those ships have sailed. I write about high school because that’s a frightening fantastical dystopia too, from a past so far away it seems ancient.

So I guess all this is a long winded way of saying that if I could wander anywhere in the world it would be sideways, through time, or off it completely, to another planet or universe. Not that I don’t like our world, but if we’re fulfilling wishes here, why not wish for something that I can’t get on my own steam?

Still I have to say, right now, I could do with a bit of a wander through the Grande Bazaar in Istanbul. No particular reason, I just feel like it would be a nice place to spend the afternoon, looking a jewelry and knock-off handbags, drinking tea and eating baklava. Sigh.

If you’ve never been to Turkey, you should go. And here’s a horribly inaccurate video to inspire you a bit:
11 thoughts on “ROAD TRIP WEDNESDAY : Leaving Earth

  1. To another planet… Having just watched John Carter (dude gets transported to Mars), I really like this idea! If I had a lot of money, I’d buy a ticket up to the Space Station so I could watch the aurorae from up there. That’s my ultimate dream spot – but I doubt I’ll ever be able to afford it 😦

    1. Lord, been there, done that, LITERALLY got the t-shirt. I cut the collar off and wore it hanging over one shoulder, with fingerless gloves and about fifty bangles. Over leggings, with Peter Pan boots.

  2. I suppose the next best thing would be to go somewhere steeped in history. Like Greece, where you could wander around ruins, and imagine them in their glory. Or Rome, and visit the Colosseum, and smell the blood and sweat of gladiator fights. 🙂

  3. I was thinking about traveling through time, too. The possibilities would be endless! I might even be tempted to take a trip back to high school (I’d have to think hard about that one, though).

  4. Can I go to fictional worlds?!? 😀

    I would tour the Death Star (before it was destroyed, of course) and visit Dorne from the Seven Kingdoms (A Song of Ice and Fire by George RR Martin). He always describes the madly fantastic food they eat there, like spun-sugar skulls, and snakes cooked with peppers and a hint of their own venom. (I like spicy stuff). Also, WOMEN CAN INHERIT AND RULE THERE (unheard of in fantasy universes, I know)! As long as they’re born first. Which I am. So I’d point and laugh at my little brother, lol… 😉

  5. I love your answer. If I could go back in my own life, it might be to high school (to pull my nose out of books and have a little more fun). Or maybe to long, lazy summer days of childhood, because I can’t remember the last day in which time felt endless.

  6. Going sideways through time sounds absolutely fantastic! And truly, if you could go back to childhood with some of the knowledge you’ve gained as an adult — wouldn’t that be a trip?!

Leave a Reply

