Marvelous Middle Grade Monday – Are you a Reader or a RE-READER?

14 Comments

I’ve just this second come up with a theory. Here it is: Writers not only start out as readers, they start out as re-readers. When I was a child I would read books over and over again – some countless times.  Some until the books was dog-eared and falling apart. Others I would borrow from the public library or my school library numerous times. Here’s a short list of some of the books I re-read again and again in childhood, all of which I have reviewed on this blog as Marvelous Middle Grade Monday entries:

The Narnia Series

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles

The One Hundred and One Dalmations

The Time Trilogy

The Belgian Twins

The Phantom Toolbooth

The Little Prince

Rumer Godden’s Doll books.

Charlotte’s Web

Most kids who can read, do. And some kids who read turn into grown-ups who read. That’s fantastic. I just wonder if “re-reading” isn’t something that positively correlates with becoming a writer in adulthood.  I believe re-reading demonstrates early attempts to understand how stories work, how characters are formed, and how plots tangle and resolve. Kids who are destined to be writers re-read instinctively because this is the way to develop an innate sense of story-telling.

So to research my new theory I’d like to ask my fellow writers: were you a re-reader? Did you (do you) read some books over and over until you had practically memorized them? Did you (do you) flip familiar books open and read favorite passages? Do you quote favorite books the way some quote the Bible?

As a middle grade reader, which books did you read over and over and over?

Soooooo…(sly wink) I CAN’T WAIT TO READ WICKET SEASON! Of course I’ve read it, I wrote the darn thing, but I can’t wait to get my hot little hands on a printed book!

For other Marvelous Middle Grade Monday posts check out these blogs:

14 thoughts on “Marvelous Middle Grade Monday – Are you a Reader or a RE-READER?

  1. Huh….I was a re-reader, too! And it was Edgar Allen Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, Trixie Belden (gads, I’m that old, lol), and MRS. MIKE by Benedict and Nancy Freeman (read that til it did fall apart!). These days I am not as much a re-reader as I used to be–the TBR pile is a tad big. But one that I do re-read from time to time is WUTHERING HEIGHTS!

    Great post!!

  2. I re-read EVERYTHING everything on my shelf has been re read at least once… or else i do not allow them there. Makes no sense right?
    I re-read Harry Potter almost every day, especially certain parts of the seventh, my fav. I quote Princess Bride the most. Oh my god. Hello, my name is Iniga Montoya. (is that how you spell it?) You killed my father. Prepare to die. Oh boy, Ive taken books out from the library up to 5 times before. im insane. My dad, he never re-reads anything. My mom and I always look at him in disgust. Oh. New book i just read: mystery by Phillip Pullman, who wrote the golden compass. Good book, im not done yet, so i dont know the ending, but try it: the shadow in the north.

  3. Gosh – I don’t think I’ve re-read a book since I was in middle school myself! I used to love re-reading Libby on Wednesday, Glass Slippers Give You Blisters, and all of the BSC books.

  4. I don’t have time to read the books I have collected, let alone re-read books. But I have a way of re-reading some of my favourites. I used to read them to my kids and now I read them with my ESL students. On the list are: Little Women, Black Beauty, Anne of Green Gables and any Jane Austen novels. Any reading is a good way to improve your writing skills I believe.

  5. What an interesting theory, Gabrielle! Of course I was a re-reader as a child. I read THE SECRET GARDEN so many times I lost count. And Roald Dahl. And Beverly Cleary. And THE DARK IS RISING…

    Congrats on WICKET SEASON!

  6. I don’t quote books unless I really have to. I haven’t read “a book” over and over. I’ve read entire series over and over as a kid. Series like The Black Stallion (I still have my French copies).

  7. Pingback: Bookish News and Publishing Tidbits 21 March 2012 | Read in a Single Sitting - Book reviews and new books

  8. Pingback: Marvelous Middle Grade Monday – SLEUTHS! « Angelhorn

Leave a Reply

