Terrific Teen Tuesday: Teens who publish

5 Comments

Have I told you how awestruck I am by writers who publish in their teens? There are so many reasons to admire kids like this but my main reason comes down to something my husband bugs me about. “Output, not input” he says to me when he thinks I’ve been wallowing in my book pile for too long and not actually writing anything. It’s kind of profound, really. Output.

I like it because it represents, yet again, what is wrong with the way we school our kids, especially when it comes to literature and the media. Kids spend hours inputting other people’s work and almost no time outputting their own. Why not write books in English class, why not make history instead of studying it?

Kids who write, kids who get published, they understand. So I’m dedicating this Terrific Teen Tuesday to a shameless plug for my teen friends over at TeenEyes Editorial. Kate and Taryn are a couple of young women who have both interned at major publishers and agencies and are well on the way to being published themselves. In the meantime they offer an excellent editorial service at very reasonable rates. Kate recently gave me some great notes on a middle grade novel that my agent sent out to five publishers just today!

Thanks Kate and Taryn! You guys are terrific.

5 thoughts on “Terrific Teen Tuesday: Teens who publish

  1. First off, thanks for the shameless plug!!! And I’m so excited to hear that PANDAS went out to editors….exciting! 🙂

    And secondly, I’ve never thought of schooling in terms of input and output. Of course I’ve found myself wondering why we don’t do much writing in English class, but I never really applied this concept to other subjects. Wow. Put so simply, it seems like a huge flaw in our education system. I feel like kids would be much more engaged if they were expected to produce something of value, rather than just learn about other people’s accomplishments.

    • It seems obvious right? But our school system is based on very old fashioned ideas of teaching, dating back to the first “academies” which all about rote learning and analyzing other people’s ideas for the sake of it.

  2. Great link. Those girls are teen literary rockstars. Nice. A teacher at a middle school here in Bellingham had his English class do a Nanowrimo type writing project and most of them wrote novels way longer than the minimum word count for the project. The did a reading at Village Books at the end and it was all-around pretty awesome. So, some teachers are getting it, but yeah, not enough of them!

  3. Pingback: Random Websites I Use While Writing « Angelhorn

Leave a Reply

