I got tagged – THE NEXT BIG THING

3 Comments

The wonderful  Holly Bodger tagged me in this so I must respond, else I risk getting beat with a big red hat. Here it goes:

Answers for The Next Big Thing

What is your working title of your book?

THE FRAIL DAYS

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’ve wanted to write something based on my experiences with my high school rock band for a while. When I heard Orca books was looking for performing arts books I jumped at the chance to submit. Good News: they love it! Before we proceed I feel it’s only fair that I share a little of that high school rock band, Fall Down Go Boom. Here we are in about 1985:

What genre does your book fall under?

YA Contemporary

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This is tough since Stella, the narrator, is Chinese Canadian, and Tamsin, her friend, is kind of chubby. Both of them need to be able to sing!  It’s so hard to find well-known Asian actresses OR fuller figured actresses, especially younger teens, especially singers!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Sixteen year-old Stella Wing just wants to rock, when everyone else wants to rap.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I am represented by the Carolyn Swayze Agency. The book will be published by Orca Books, who are also publishing my verse novel, AUDACIOUS.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?

It took me a couple of days to write the outline and the first three chapters. I haven’t written the rest yet! Since it’s under contract I really shouldn’t share too much, but here’s a “taste” from chapter 2:

When the brownies are done I take three of them with a big glass of milk back to my room.  Brownies and milk. I’m so hardcore. Except not. I know it’s supposed to be sex, drugs and rock n’ roll, but everyone knows drugs are for losers. And even if I could get a boy interested in me, sex seems like more trouble than it’s worth. So it’s brownies, milk and rock n’ roll for me. Live fast. Eat chocolate. That’s my philosophy.

 What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I haven’t read many books about teen rock bands but I know they are out there. Several of them are on my TBR list. DRUMMER GIRL and FIVE FLAVORS OF DUMB  are two that come to mind.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Sarah Harvey from Orca invited me to pitch for a new series about performing arts. And I’ve had this idea of a semi-autobiographical thing for a while. So it just fit. Plus my other WIPs are literally killing me. So hopefully this will be a nice break.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

There will be lots of references to 70s, 80s and 90s music. The Clash, The Ramones, Green Day, Nirvana and U2 all get mentions.

Authors I Tag – visit their blogs to see if they replied!

Evan Roskos http://evanroskos.blogspot.com/

Amy  Sonnischsen http://www.alsonnichsen.blogspot.com

Kheryn Casey http://kheryn-casey.blogspot.com

Akossiwa Ketoglo http://akossiwaketoglo.com

Stephanie Parent http://www.stephanieparent.blogspot.com

Rules of The Next Big Thing:

*Use this format for your post

*Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)

*Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

What is your working title of your book?

Where did the idea come from for the book?

What genre does your book fall under?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged. Be sure to line up your five people in advance.

3 thoughts on “I got tagged – THE NEXT BIG THING

  1. Pingback: Terrific Teen Tuesday – Teens Who Rap « Angelhorn

Leave a Reply

