Thematic Reading

I read a lot. Not 365 books a year a lot but still, quite a lot more than your average pundit on the street. I think I read more than my mum for example, and she’s a retired librarian. Last year I read over 125 books, many of them ARCs or eARCs. I rated each one on Goodreads, but I feel badly that I didn’t review many of them. I think the problem is a don’t really like reviewing books.

So this year I’m going to try something a bit different. Along with my monthly mini reviews of the books on my quota (see sidebar) I’m going to write theme posts. Theme posts will look at two or more recent or upcoming releases that both explore the same or similar themes, premises or character types. I will look at both middle grade and YA and possibly even include some older books in the posts. Knowing me the posts will probably be more about the themes and questions raised  by the books than the books themselves, but hey, any publicity is good publicity right?

I’m always open for suggestions and input here at Angelhorn so in this spirit I’m going to list some of the themes and books below and ask if anyone has suggestions of books that might fit. Without further ado:

The Loop

 

Theme/Premise: Time loop (like Groundhog Day)

11 BIRTHDAYS by  Wendy Mass (2009)

THE LOOP by Shandy Lawson (4/30/13)

Theme/Premise: Altered DNA

PROJECT PAPER DOLL: THE RULES by Stacy Kade (4/23/13)

THE NEPTUNE PROJECT by Polly Holyoke (5/31/13)

ORIGIN by Jessica Khoury (2012)

Theme/Premise: Suicide/Depression

DR BIRD’S ADVICE FOR SAD POETS by Evan Roskos  (3/5/13)

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers (2012)

Theme/Premise: Bullying

THE SWEET REVENGE OF CELIA DOOR by Karen Finneyfrock (2/21/13)

PERIOD 8 by Chris Crutcher (4/1/13)

Dear Life, You Suck

THE TRIBE: HOMEROOM HEADHUNTERS by Clay McLeod Chapman (5/7/13)

Theme/Premise: Grief

IMPERFECT SPIRAL by Debbie Levy (7/9/2013)

BRUISED by Sarah Skilton (3/13)

Theme/Premise: Music

DEAD IS A KILLER TUNE by Marlene Perez (2012)

THE PUNK ETHIC by Timothy Decker (2011)

Theme/Premise:  Parental neglect/child services

SHADOW GIRL by Patricia Morrison (2013)

15 DAYS WITHOUT A HEAD by Dave Cousins

Theme/Premise:  Aging out of foster care

DEAR LIFE YOU SUCK by Scott Blagden (3/26/13)

NOBODY BUT US by  Kristin Halbrook

Theme/Premise: Dream Visitors

INSOMNIA by J. R. Johansson (6/13)

This Is What Happy Looks Like

THE NIGHTMARE AFFAIR by Mindee Arnett (3/13)

Theme/Premise: Non-Fiction – Incarceration

ESCAPE FROM CAMP 14 by Blaine Harden

REAL JUSTICE: FOURTEEN AND SENTENCED TO DEATH by Bill Swan

Theme/Premise: Fiction – Incarceration

THE TWELVE FINGERED BOY by John Horner Jacobs

PRISONER IN ALCATRAZ by Theresa Breslin

Theme/Premise: Email/phone relationship

NOT EXACTLY OF LOVE STORY by Audrey Couloumbis (2012)

THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE by Jennifer E. Smith (3/7/13)

Lord knows if I’ll have time to read all these, much less rant about their themes, but I thought this would an interesting way to engage in what I’m reading this year.

Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Thematic Reading

Leave a Reply

